How comfortable are you with your book?

I realized something the other day.  While I’m enjoying the plot, characters and action of “Storm of Swords,” the third book in the “Song of Ice and Fire” series by George R.R. Martin, I’m not enjoying the actual physical book itself.  I’m reading it in paperback, so it’s this thick, rather heavy lump of paper that even I, with my abnormally large hands, have trouble holding with one hand while I’m eating lunch, and even with two hands it feels almost like an isometric exercise than reading for pleasure.

I checked “The Making of The Empire Strikes Back” by J.W. Rinzler out of the library, and it’s a foot wide by eleven inches tall and is ungodly heavy.  It fits on my lap well, but the print is tiny, making it an altogether different kind of uncomfortable reading experience.

I loved reading Joe Hill‘s “NOS4A2,” but somewhere along the line, the decision was made to have the actual paper trimmed to slightly different lengths on the side (And I’m sure there’s a name for this process, but I don’t know what it’s called), and while it’s not as cumbersome as odd book sizes and weight, it made turning the pages (which I was doing as quickly as possible) a little bit tricky.

I don’t know who makes these decisions, and I really love physical books.  I enjoy my nook as well, but there’s something about turning the physical pages and feeling the paper and the balance changes as you progress through things.  Have any of you read a book that you had management issues with?

Standard

3 thoughts on “How comfortable are you with your book?

  1. Chele_sews says:

    My only issue with reading books these days is with my eyes. After my thyroid issues, the muscles behind my eyes get inflamed easily, so I have to be careful not to read for too long. I have a stack of Stephen King waiting to be read. I used to be able to read a standard size novel in about 3 days, now it takes months.
    I don’t think I’ll ever give up traditional books for digital.

Leave a Reply

